TRAI issues Consultation Paper on Review of network related Quality of Service standards for Cellular Mobile Telephone Service

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has issued a consultation Paper on Review of network related Quality of Service standards for Cellular Mobile Telephone Service. ...

See details Hide details
TRAI issues Consultation Paper on Review of network related Quality of Service standards for Cellular Mobile Telephone Service

Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI) has issued a consultation Paper on Review of network related Quality of Service standards for Cellular Mobile Telephone Service.

In the wake of phenomenal growth in cellular mobile telephone service, technology changes that have taken place in the recent times and increasing concerns of consumers relating to Quality of Service perceived by them, there is a need to review the Quality of Service parameters and benchmarks so as to streamline the monitoring of the parameters, its measurement and the regulatory framework. This could lead to better Quality of Experience by users. With these objectives, the Authority has released a Consultation Paper today for initiating a consultation process to review the network related Quality of Service standards.

This consultation paper describes the various parameters and respective benchmarks for assessment of Quality of Service of 2G and 3G networks. The Authority seeks the views of the stakeholders as to how to bring about changes in these benchmarks and possibly add parameters, if required, to improve the Quality of Service experience by the customers. It also envisaged to add relevant parameters for 4G/BWA services also, in view of their deployment in the network. The consultation paper seeks to know from the stakeholders as to what will be the appropriate way to calculate call drop rates through meta data analysis of CDRs. The mechanism of imposing of financial disincentives in case of below the bench mark performance has also been raised in this consultation paper.

Last date for submitting the comments is 16th September, 2016.

Consultation Paper on Review of network related Quality of Service standards for Cellular Mobile Telephone Service

All Comments
#TRAI, #ConsultationPaper, #QualityofServiceStandards, #CellularMobileTelephoneService, #MyGov
Reset
Showing 173 Submission(s)
sahil garg_3's picture

sahil garg_3 2 years 2 months ago

ZERO (0) is the best to explain for this, it is first invented in India. Moreover, I can't understand it if JIO provides 50rs/GB. why other companies get 250/GB. there must be a single price fixed from government. they don't provide quality with money. therefore they are becoming rich day by day.

Ishit Shah's picture

Ishit Shah 2 years 2 months ago

Due to coalitions between all telecome companies, consumers don't get better network quality. Government should take necessary actions. I am using 3G services but most of time I get 2G network in city like Ahmedabad. I don't know what happens in villages. Apart from this BSNL should be made as efficient and effective competitor like a private organization. Employees of BSNL behave lazy and rude with consumers. Even today they take bribe as a baxish. Data protection rule should be made.

Arnab Paul's picture

Arnab Paul 2 years 2 months ago

Due to non usage of prepaid mobile nos for 90 days, telcos can de activate the no with prior intimation to the customer via post /email which is being submitted at the time of issuing the sim.This should be mandatory on part of telcos.Moreover during recharging of any prepaid no it should be ensured the owner of the sim should be well known to the re charger through any OTP.

Honey Sharma Ambardar's picture

Honey Sharma Ambardar 2 years 2 months ago

Dear Sir,
I live in a Posh colony in Lucknow. I have BSNL Boradband connection at home. Since 5 months neither my landline phone nor Broadband connection are working. I have made repeated request to the BSNL deptt. but all in vain. I am paying approx. Rs.1800/-per month for dead connection. My daughter is in 12th std. and she needs internet for studies on regular basis.
Sir, in these type of scenario how Digital India dream of our Honorable Prime Minister will work out.

Kiran Bala_6's picture

Kiran Bala_6 2 years 2 months ago

Network quality is vry poor In sm areas . Cstmr care se bat krk bhi koi fayda nhi hota . They said hnare trf se koi issue nhi h and ye prblm din k tym jyada rhti h ntwrk ki rat me ohir bhi thk ho jati h ye smjh nhi ata

Aman thakur's picture

Aman thakur 2 years 2 months ago

Honable prime minister this quota and cast system will let India to developed....do you wants to developed india or wants to remain in power...don't ignore ...answer please...

NAND KISHOR DAS's picture

NAND KISHOR DAS 2 years 2 months ago

mere village mai network to sabhi mobile ka aata hai but bahut kamjor signal rahta hai.internet to bahut dur ki bat hai call karna muskil ho jata hai ghar se bahar jakar call karna padta hai.Maine kai bar airtel vodafone bsnl sabhi ke customer care m phone lagakar complane kiya lakin 2016 tak yani ki aaj tak koi sudhar nahi hua hai kisi v compony ke taraf se. kewal ye bola jata hai ki abhi network ka kam ho raha hai. to kya aaj tak sudhar ka kam chal raha hai or kitne sal tak ye sudhar ka kam ch

Dr balwant singh's picture

Dr balwant singh 2 years 2 months ago

Services of telecommunications companies are very poor in rural India and they are charging so much.
If one s balance of internet is over then they will cut all calling balances, and they introduced schemes Which are not possible for rural man to understand and why they are charging 30 rupees for caller tune, which is very high, so government must take action to stop then from rob people and make them responsible for good services and affordable prices, after paying service is not good

Anand Chavan's picture

Anand Chavan 2 years 2 months ago

I think firstly the cellular companies should wokr on good network qulaity, as still to date its very difficult to connect in metros as wells as any places. if we are working on ONE INDIA. then telecom also should be in one circle no romming, no std ONE INDIA ONE PLAN for mobiles